Julie Andrews’ Collection of Poems, Songs, and Lullabies – Poetry Friday

Julie Andrews and her daughter, Emma Walton Hamilton, have collected poems, songs, and lullabies that are “just a few of their favorite things.” This collection is filled with beautiful paintings by James McMullan. We, also, have the audiobook available of this collection if you would prefer to hear some of the songs and poems read aloud. It’s a great book that children and parents will both enjoy. Many poets, songwriters, and artists are represented in its pages. I selected lyrics by Stephen Sondheim to give you a feel for this collection. It’s a song I sing to my own daughter, and is from one of my favorite musicals.

Not While I’m Around

Nothing’s gonna harm you,

not while I’m around.

Nothing’s gonna harm you, no sir,

not while I’m around.

Demons are prowling

ev’rywhere nowadays.

I’ll send them howling,

I don’t care, I’ve got way.

No-one’s gonna hurt you,

no-one’s gonna dare.

Others can desert you,

Not to worry; whistle, I’ll be there.

Demons’ll charm you with smile

for a while, but in time,

nothing can harm you,

not while I’m around.

Julie Andrews' Collection of Poems, Songs, and Lullabies

 

Comments Off on Julie Andrews’ Collection of Poems, Songs, and Lullabies – Poetry Friday

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.