POETRY FRIDAY – MAYA ANGELOU!

For this week I choose another collection from the Poetry for Young People series. Maya Angelou was edited by Edwin Graves Wilson, PhD. and illustrated by Jerome Lagarrigue.

Just like last week’s Langston Hughes selection, my favorite parts of this book center more around all the additional information they provide. There is a short biography about Maya Angelou’s life, background is given on each poem, and explanation of any vocabulary or imagery that may not be obvious to children is included. Each poem includes pictures that add to the context of the poem and give hints as to the tone or emotions that Maya Angelou was trying to express.

I selected a poem that has always been a personal favorite of mine:

Little Girl Speakings

Ain’t nobody better’n my Daddy,

you keep yo’ quauter,

I ain’t yo’ daughter.

Ain’t nobody better’n my Daddy.

Ain’t nothing prettier’n my dollie,

heard what I said

don’t pat her head,

Ain’t nothing prettier’n my dollie.

No lady cookinger than my Mommy,

smell that pie,

see I don’t lie,

No lady cookinger than my Mommy.

 

Comments Off on POETRY FRIDAY – MAYA ANGELOU!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.